Importing Music notation into Vectornator

hello all

I’m new to using Vectornator. I am interested in importing PDFs of music notation into the software. I’m curious if anybody has any experience with this.

My first attempt didn’t work very well and I imported some fonts into the software as suggested and then that broke my music notation software (Dorico for iPad). The notation still didn’t look right in Vectornator as well.

1 Like

What a coincidence! I’ve been drafting a lengthy feedback post about embedded font support in Vectornator and was using music notation as a specific example…

Unfortunately, you can’t “just import” notation into Vectornator, as you’ve already discovered. This is because the notation symbols (flat, sharp, clefs, noteheads, etc) as stored as a font.

I’ve also tried importing the fonts into iOS, but that doesn’t work either; probably because the PDF generator “subsets” the fonts - stripping out the unused symbols to make the PDF size smaller. A unique font is generated each time based on the symbols used in the score.

The only option I’ve found that works at all is importing the PDF into other graphics software which outlines all the symbols. This “works”, but has a few downsides:

• You can’t edit any text - it’s all converted symbols, not just the notation.
  • Readers of the sheet music will be unable to select any text either (as it’s no longer text).
  • The PDF size is greatly increased. A simple page of music in MuseScore went from 73kB to 1.2MB. This is compounded with large books, which often exceed 50 megs if used with this method.
  • You generally have to convert one page at a time, so it’s very time-consumng.

I’ve had good experiences with:

The only way I’ve found to preserve the text is to use Acrobat, which does have an iPad app. Unfortunately this is a very costly solution.

Hope this helps!

1 Like